Steering Group

Page 13 of the EUSBSR Action Plan1 defines the tasks of Policy Area Coordinators. They should facilitate the involvement of and cooperation with relevant stakeholders from the entire macro-region (…). More specifically, it says that [f]or this purpose, a steering committee/coordination group should be set-up and chaired by the policy area coordinator(s). A group should be composed of representatives of all Member States and other Baltic Sea region states, when relevant, as well as experts in the area concerned. It’s up to members of [the] group to decide on internal rules of the steering committee. The group should meet at least twice a year and support policy area coordinator(s) in [the] implementation of the tasks referred.

Policy area tourism founded their Steering Group in 2013. The internal rules, i.e. objectives, fields of action and procedures are laid down in the Terms of Reference.

1 European Commission (2015), European Union Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region – Action Plan {COM(2009) 248}, Commission Staff Working Document, SWD (2015) 177 final, Brussels.


last updated: 15 May 2017
Country Name Institution Function E-Mail
Denmark Ms. Lena Elmgreen Grau Ministry of Business and Growth Head of Section
Denmark Ms. Eva Thybo VisitDenmark Business Development Manager
Denmark Mr. Lars Erik Jønsson VisitDenmark Deputy Managing Director
Estonia Ms. Annika Anton Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications Executive Officer
Estonia Mr. Tarmo Mutso Estonian Tourist Board Director
Finland Ms. Nina Vesterinen Ministry of Employment and the Economy Regional Department Senior Specialist tourism policy
Finland Ms. Hanna-Mari Kuhmonen Ministry of Employment and the Economy Regional Department Senior Officer
Finland Ms. Terhi Hook Visit Finland - Finnish Tourist Board, MEK Product Development Manager
Germany Ms. Gisela Will Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy Tourism Policy Unit (VII A 4)
Germany Mr. Michael Steuer German National Tourist Board Head of Division of the CEO
Latvia Ms. Madara Luka Ministry of Economics, Entrepreneurship Competitiveness Department Tourism and Export Promotion Division
Lithuania Ms. Lidija Bajarūnienė The Ministry of Economics, Investment and Export Department Chief Specialist Tourism Policy Division
Poland Mr. Karol Biedrzycki Ministry of Sport and Tourism, Department of Tourism Chief Specialist
Sweden Mr. Håkan Hillefors Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation, Division for Entrepreneurship Promotion and Simplification Focal Point, Deputy Head of Division
Sweden Ms. Christina Rådelius Swedish Agency for Economic and Regional Growth - Tillväxtverket Programme Director for Tourism
EU Mr. Peter Schenk European Commission, DG Regio Principal responsibility for overseeing the EUSBSR
EU Ms. Lina Marcinkuté European Commission, DG Regio
PA Tourism Mr. Gerd Lange Ministry of Economics, Employment and Health Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Head of Tourism Unit, PAC Tourism
PA Tourism Ms. Anja Gelzer Ministry of Economics, Employment and Health Mecklenburg-Vorpommern PA Tourism Team

Baltic Sea Tourism Forum

10th Baltic Sea Tourism Forum 2-3 November 2017, Turku

Find out more

EU Funding for the Tourism Sector

Guide on EU Funding for the Tourism Sector 2014-2020

Find out more

Sustainability in Tourism

Czolpino on a beach, Poland © Krzysztof Karabon / EUSBSR (Internal link: Go to current activities) Show details

Czolpino on a beach, Poland
Submitted within the Southbaltic photo competition 2012

Promoting a sustainable development of the sector

Find out more

Sustainable Blue Growth Agenda

Sailboat on the Baltic Sea © Peter Dam / EUSBSR (Internal link: Go to current activies) Show details

Sailboat on the Baltic Sea

Developing an implementation strategy for the agenda

Find out more